TAFE SA Board of Directors

TAFE SA is a statutory corporation owned by the South Australian Government. The Board of Directors is charged with building the TAFE SA brand, growing the reputation for quality, and achieving specific targets and outcomes.

Joanne Denley

Ms Joanne Denley (Chair)

Joanne Denley is currently the Director of Human Resources and Risk Management at Bridgestone Australia Ltd. In addition to 28 years’ experience in Risk Management, Employee Relations and Human Resources at a corporate level, Joanne has vast experience in managing industrial relations and improving operational efficiencies.

John Branson

Mr John Branson AM (Director)

John Branson is a former Chairman of Directors of Stuart Petroleum Limited, the South Australian TAB, Simeon Wines Limited, Flinders Partners Pty Ltd, and Pembroke School Inc. John is a former Council Member of Flinders University of South Australia, and a former Director of the Bank of South Australia Advisory Board. John is a Member of the Order of Australia (awarded for his contribution to business and education), has a Bachelor of Law degree, and is a Companion of Flinders University. As a Senior Partner of Fisher Jeffries Lawyers for a number of years, specialising in the financial and corporate area, John will bring valuable corporate knowledge and legal expertise to the Board.

Noelene Buddle

Ms Noelene Buddle (Director)

Ms Buddle has a background in finance and strategic management, having held senior executive roles in the Arts, Entertainment and Higher Education sectors. She has also served on a number of commercial and not-for-profit boards including the Jam Factory, South Australian Museum and WorkCover SA. Her qualifications include a Bachelor of Arts (Accountancy), Master of Business Administration and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Annette Hurley

Ms Annette Hurley (Director)

Annette Hurley was most recently a Senator for South Australia from 2004 until 2007 and has vast experience in public affairs and government relations, having been a former Leader of the Opposition in South Australia, Director of Hawker Britton Pty Ltd, and former Chair of the Senate Economics Committee from 2007-2011. Annette also has experience in change management as Director of the Seafood Council (SA) Ltd during a period of significant restructure. Annette is the current Chair of the Northern Areas Community and Youth Services Board, and has been an active board member since 1992.

Dr Susan Mitchell

Dr Susan Mitchell (Director)

Dr Susan Mitchell has a PhD in Creative Arts (University of Western Sydney) an M A in Drama (Flinders University) and a B A in English and History (University of Adelaide). She is a former Senior Lecturer and Head of Department in Literary Studies at the University of South Australia and is currently an Adjunct Professor of Creative Writing at Flinders University. As a best selling author she has published 16 books both nationally and internationally, was a radio broadcaster and television presenter of her own programs on the ABC, is a newspaper columnist, a television and film critic and a well known public speaker and social commentator. She has been a Director on the Literature Board of the Australia Council, a Director on the Board of Film Australia, Chair of Adelaide Writers Week, a Director on the Board of the SA Tourism Commission, a Director on the Board of the Adelaide Convention Centre. She is currently a Director on the Board of the SA Film Corporation.

Miriam Silva

Ms Miriam Silva (Director)

Ms Silva was most recently the Acting Chief Executive of TAFE SA. Her previous appointments include the Chief Operating Officer at FleetPartners, Chief Operating Officer (Pacific) for the ANZ Banking Group Ltd and General Manager of Commercial Operations at Elders Ltd in Adelaide. Miriam is also a member of the University of South Australia Council, the Premier’s Council for Women, and the Multicultural and Ethnic Affairs Commission.

Virginia Simmons

Ms Virginia Simmons AO (Director)

Virginia Simmons has held senior management positions within a number of TAFE Institutes including Deputy Vice-Chancellor at Swinburne University of Technology and CEO of Kangan and Chisholm Institutes. Virginia is currently studying towards a Master of Education (Research) and holds a Graduate Diploma of Educational Administration. Professional memberships include a Fellow of the Australian College of Educators and Board Member of the Southern Migrant and Refugee Centre. Public recognition for Ms Simmons' achievements includes: Officer in the General Division of the Order of Australia in January 2010 and the Victorian Honour Roll of Women in 2011 for leadership and innovation in vocational education and training. Virginia has extensive experience in international education, most recently in Africa, the Pacific and China, and now works as a consultant in tertiary education.

Trevor Smith

Mr Trevor Smith (Director)

Mr Smith is currently the Managing Director – Advisory Consulting Employment Services and was the former National President of the Construction Forestry Mining & Energy Union from 1991 to 2006. Mr Smith also recently served as Chair of the South Australian Forestry Industry Advisory Board from February 2013 to February 2015, and Chair of the South-East Forestry Partnership Programme from November 2012 to May 2014. Mr Smith has held numerous positions across the Forestry industry and associated employee associations and superannuation services. Previous appointments include Director - VIC Forests, Joint Chairperson of the Timber Industry Superannuation Scheme, Director – Australian Forestry Standard Limited and National Secretary of the Australian Timber Workers’ Union. Mr Smith’s industry participation extended to international involvement through a number of positions within the International Federation of Building & Wood Workers.